Skip to product information
1 of 1

True Love - Pas!Net!

True Love - Pas!Net!

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
First, since you’re probably wondering about it, let’s get this out of the way: ¡Pas Net!, the name of True Love’s fourth album and Main Man Records debut, is French and literally translated means “not clear.” The colloquial meaning of the expression, however, is something more akin to “sketchy” or “shady.” It’s a phrase that the father of True Love guitarist Tom “The Squirrel” Beaujour often uses to characterize individuals that he considers to be unworthy of his admiration. It’s been adopted by drummer Ray Kubian and bassist Keith Hartel, as well. So yeah, “pas net” means “wack,” “shitty,” “lame,” “hack,” “only worthy of an enthusiastic hobbyist but not of a real musician”… you get the drift.

Plainly stated, the goal of True Love on this album, which took no less than four years to complete, was to make sure that there was not one goddamn “pas net” thing on it. Yes, four years. Four years of writing, overdubbing, redoing, drinking, writing, overdubbing, drinking, moving studios, having all their shit under tarps for six months because the new studio was a disaster, drinking more, mixing, remixing, bongs hits and talking copious amounts of shit all went into making an album that, while death-obsessed to the max, shines the cheerful light of pop melodies and Queen-inspired vocal harmonies on the least sunny of subjects.

Whether this album yields placements on television and film soundtracks (like the band’s previous three albums) remains to be seen. Whether this band (which hasn’t ventured beyond the walls of their Hoboken, NJ fortress since before anyone even knew who Barack Obama was) can still deliver the pitch perfect live shows that sometimes pack ‘em in also remains to be seen (we’re pretty sure they’re up to it).

We do promise you one thing: ¡Pas Net! is anything but.

1. The Future
2. Swinging From The Trees
3. The Black Marauder
4. Bitter Wine
5. Second Of One
6. Ice
7. Calamity Jane
8. Monolithic
9. Pandora
10. Born Against
11. Who's That Kid
12. Law And Order
13. Wing Commander

True Love’s 4th remixing- you get the idea. “Pas Net!” is what Cheap Trick might sound like if they were a little more punk. Hailing from Sinatra’s hometown, tracks from True Love’s first three albums have appeared on movie soundtracks. The bio describes this as “death-obsessed to the max (while shining) the cheerful light of pop melodies and Queen-inspired vocal harmonies on the least sunny of subjects”, a quote I use because there’s no better way to describe this album- happy sound, hard subject matter. This is guitar-driven rock & roll, more melodic than hard, and more impressive the louder it’s played. The overdriven drum sound adds an unsettling vibe to an otherwise cheerful sound, an oddly compatible mix. I’ll be listening to this for awhile. KEY CUTS: “The Future”, “Bitter Wine”, “Ice” album is finally here after 4 years of writing, overdubbing, redoing,
View full details